Black, blue…ALL lives matter.

I’m getting old enough that there are fewer and fewer things that truly infuriate me. One of them, though, is the argument that supporting Black Lives Matter means that a person is anti-police, or that supporting Blue Lives Matter means that a person is racist.

This thinking is the classic example of the false dilemma fallacy. It is presenting two choices and arguing that they are the only two choices. For instance: “Either you think that Elvis Presley is the greatest musician in history or you are an idiot.” I would hope that Elvis fans know how stupid this would be to argue.

We have heard about tragedies involving the shootings or beatings of African-Americans that were umprovoked. We have also heard about tragedies of police officers being ambushed. There are both horrible. Anyone who believes that supporting one group makes a person an enemy of the other group is a fool, and anyone who suggests that there is a comparative value that makes one tragedy worse than the other is also a fool.

One thought on “Black, blue…ALL lives matter.

  1. Michael Wing says:

    I have friends for whom I care deeply, who do post opinions reflecting this false dilemma fallacy. I have always supported the police, and thank God for their service to our society. I have also been learning more about the reason to say that Black lives matter. For months I’ve kicked around the idea of posting my opinions on this issue. Thanks to this post, I no longer have to. You nailed it.

Leave a Reply

